Advent Reflection: Waiting.Seeking… Faith


Scripture Reading

Habakkuk 2:1-5

Philippians 3:7-11

 

How I long to be like Habakkuk! Diligently and patiently waiting for God, putting himself out on the watchpost, ready to hear from God. Although, he wasn’t perfect – he just got done complaining to God in chapter 1… but I love how he waits. And what an answer he receives: “There is still a vision for the appointed time; it speaks of the end, it does not lie. If it seems to tarry, wait for it; it will surely come, it will not delay.” WOW! Yes, God, there is still a vision, you still have a vision, you are still with us, you are still faithful, you are still working, Aslan is on the move! But look at the arrogant… the proud, the wealthy, those who consume and hoard and amass their own strength. How can they live by faith? Lord, help me to see my pride and arrogance more clearly, that I may repent and walk by faith. Help me to put down my vision for myself and instead walk by faith in the only vision that will endure. That I would be like Paul – counting all things as loss for the sake of Christ! That I may know Him and have the righteousness that comes… wait for it… by faith! Is my faith in myself, in my vision, or the visions of this world which lead to Death, or is my faith in the vision of God, set forth in the birth, the life, the death, and the resurrection of Jesus Christ and the sending of His Spirit to empower the Church so that His Kingdom would come and His will be done on earth as it is in Heaven? Am I amassing my own power and security and comfort through wealth or am I walking by faith in His power to provide and make a way for me? God, thank you for your vision for this world! Thank you for your faithfulness! May Your vision take life in me and in your church today! Amen.

Leave a Reply

