Six:Eight Core Values and the Stages of Faith

I took a class a few weeks back entitled “Spiritual Formation in Congregations.” The majority of the class focused on the Stages of Faith set forth by Janet Hagberg and Robert Guelich in The Critical Journey: Stages in the Life of Faith. A part of our class work was to create a set of core values for our congregations and to describe what each core value looks like at each stage of faith. Thankfully, my pastor – Jason Guynes – had actually taken this very same class and had already developed a solid list of core values for our church – Six:Eight Community Church – so I didn’t have to do that part. Over the past few weeks, rather slowly I might add, I’ve been working on “fleshing out” these values for each faith stage.

I found stage theory to be somewhat helpful personally, and I always love to gain new understanding or new perspective. I’d encourage you to check it out if you are not familiar.

So, what do the values of Community, Grace, Story, and Passion look like at each faith stage? Here’s my take:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s