Then Jesus said, “Just make it up as you go…”


Well, that isn’t a direct Scriptural quote, but it speaks to a way of life that we in the Church world often refer to as “walking by faith” and not by sight. Using a different metaphor, one could say that the life of faith, of following Jesus as Lord, is about improvising, or “making it up as you go.”

I got started thinking on this today when I read a post by Chris Smith over at the Slow Church blog. Chris is writing a book called Slow Church (that I’m very excited to read!) and one of its chapters develops an analogy between improv and the drama of Scripture. I first heard of this analogy from a book by N.T. Wright called Scripture and the Authority of God (which I would recommend). Wright breaks the Biblical drama down into 5 “acts”:

  1. Creation
  2. Fall
  3. Israel
  4. Jesus
  5. New Creation

He describes the New Testament, not including the Gospels, as “act 5, scene 1” and suggests that we – you and I right here and now – are living in act 5, still playing out the Biblical drama as we love God and neighbor in our everyday lives. We are the actors in God’s great drama. We have a story to follow and we need to, rather, must honor it, but we have no script to follow. We are like improv actors on the stage; listening for the voice of the Spirit and following where the Wind of God may blow.

This analogy fascinates me. As I finished Chris’ post and browsed the comments, I was super excited to find two other bloggers who have written in-depth on this analogy. I took the time today to read their posts and loved them so much that I thought I would share:

Joe Boyd Blog by Joe Boyd

Theatrical Theology by Wes Vander Lugt

Wes Vander Lugt has a great page for more resources on this topic.

Do you like the analogy? Is faith like improv?

Leave a Reply

