Is there a difference between sight and vision?


Proverbs 22:9 tells us: “Whoever has a bountiful eye will be blessed, for he shares his bread with the poor.” Is there a difference between sight and vision? At first we might think these words are synonyms, but we’d be mistaken. Sight is just a bodily sense, but vision is something more. With my sight, I can observe two eyes, a nose, and a mouth. With my vision, I can recognize the face of a friend. I can use my sight to monitor the road in front me as I drive home tonight, but my vision reveals a picture of the house beyond my headlights. My sight may notice the hungry man begging for food, but my vision sees Jesus. Sight is concerned with what lies directly in front of us, but vision sees beneath the surface, beyond our present circumstances, to energize new hope for a brighter future that can transform our present. May God create in us today the “bountiful eyes” of faith that combine a sighting of needs with a vision to see those needs fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

